Tuesday, March 27, 2007

my second prison visit!

ok, so i admit i am a few days behind on my blogging, so I apologize to the whopping handful (ok, 2 or 3) of you that have to read this. I got to go to the prison last monday again, which was cool- is it bad that it really does remind me of "cell block tango" from "Chicago"? without the black pleather and fishnets, of course... that song was in my head the entire time we were there. I don't know why I find it so fascinating to be there but i do, however, no plans to ever stay indefinitely. Anyway, we got there and basically set up the hallway for the "confessional", Im not sure what else to call it, and then strapped Clark into his robo-cam gear, which, Im actually surprised he was still able to breathe, i had him in there pretty tight...kinda funny...anyway, then we sat and waited for all the women to get through the dinner line and come to the meeting. During the meeting Clark got footage of all the women standing up and giving small testimonies (and about knocked one woman out with the camera...TOO funny!), and I was the Boom-Girl. I am actually sad we didn't get some of that one blonde woman from, i think it was a therapy group for released women, i forget her name... she reminded me a little of a Sheri Oteri skit on SNL. spastic woman. The only part I was bummed about was that I wasn't out in the hallway to hear Patricia's testimony...I can't wait to see that footage! anyway, that was about it, and as we were taking down and packing up Betty Broderick came up and started talking to Clark and I, and told me I was cute (a little unsettling, but I'll take it as a compliment), and then told us a little about what happened to her in regards to her husband's alcohol problem, and how it pertained to her boundaries (which is the focus study of the group right now), or rather lack there-of. It brought me back to reality that I actually was in a prison, with convicted women, which is a fact which i forget so easily, bacause they seem so unthreatening and, for lack of a better word, "normal". so that was pretty much it...it was a good day. afterwards I went home and watched Chicago...

No comments: